September 23, 2017

Nicholas Lee takes eventful Q1 in Hong Kong

The CETC presented by Infinity finally made it to the first round of qualifying following earlier delays that forced it to be run under flood lights. With an incident filled opening round, Yokomo factory driver Nicholas Lee put in a very stable performance and had a brilliant finish to be able to come out on top in Q1, in front of the very strong Infinity team. Former World Champion Naoto Matsukura, who effectively lost out on the final lap by 0.198 seconds, had to settle for 2nd place for the round. The super fast Infinity driver Akio Sobue led the race early on but made a huge mistake as the race reached the halfway point dropping him to 4th place, but was able to recover to take third. In the 2nd last group, Awesomatix driver Rocket Zhang and Xpress driver Hay would end 4th and 5th overall in what was also an incident packed heat. ARC driver Patrick Chau ended 6th, followed by Hong Kong veteran Fai Ho.

Continue reading this report here or view our full event coverage here.

September 23, 2017

Akio Sobue is top seed in Hong Kong for CETC Rd4

The season finale of the 2017 CETC presented by Infinity is taking place this weekend at Twin RC Speedway in Hong Kong. With rain delaying the start of the action on Saturday for more than two and half hours, free practice was once again interrupted by some light rain lasting only a few minutes, however the track dried up quickly thanks to the high temperature and sunshine and so the race was able to continue soon after. After two rounds of controlled practice it was Infinity factory driver Akio Sobue who drew first blood. With tire strategy in mind the likeable Japanese driver only took part in the 2nd round of controlled practice and only ran 3 laps to set a 42.350, which was the fastest 3 consecutive laps to take the top spot in the ranking. Akio’s team mate Naoto Matsukura was just 0.26 seconds further back while Yokomo factory driver Nicholas Lee also played the tire conservation game by only running the first round of controlled practice and posting a 43.433, ending up in 3rd. New ARC signing Patrick Chau was 0.5 seconds behind in 4th and was the fastest local Hong Kong driver. Xray youngster Lau Ming Hao was a further 0.05 seconds back and ranked 5th ahead of the factory Serpent pairing of Stick King and Felix Law in 6th and 7th. Local Hong Kong youngsters Fong King and Lolo Sam impressed in 8th and 10th respectively, split by local veteran Fai Ho in 9th.

Continue reading this report here or view our full event coverage here.

September 23, 2017

Southern Rallycross Series finale – Report

The last round of the Southern Rallycross Series took place at Herts Nitro Model Club in Ware Hertfordshire, 30 minutes outside of London. This round would see a fully subscribe round with almost 100 racers, showing how strong regional racing is in the UK for club and pro racers. The race would also be a challenging format as bad weather was on the forecast from 17:30 so speed would be order of the day. Qualifying in Nitro Buggy went to Jamie Clancy, Truggy went to Jon Hazlewood and E-Buggy to George Miller.

Continue reading the report here

September 22, 2017

Sulc & Havranek takes Czech EP On-road titles

The Czech Electric On-road Nationals took place in Nachod in changing weather conditions. The weekend started off with practice on Friday while Saturday’s qualifiers being heavily influenced by the rainy weather. Sunday mains day the rain stopped but even in the finals the track was still wet in some parts and in the Touring Stock class it was reigning champion, Oliver Havranek who lead an Xray 1-2-3 with TQ Martin Sponar on the runner-up spot and Ondrej Kohoutek rounding out the podium results. Elsewhere in the Touring Modified class it was Matej Sulc (Xray) with the overall win from Vita Hola (Xray) in 2nd and Karel Dolezal (VBC Racing) 3rd.

Source: Xray [teamxray.com]

September 22, 2017

Serpent Cobra GT lightweight 2-speed clutch bell

Serpent have introduced a lightweight 2-speed clutch bell for the Cobra GT8 car. Made as an addition to the already existing standard steel and coated aluminium bells this version will work with all of the existing clutch shoe types and materials and it comes with a precision-machined pinion thread, a durable coating and the SPT logo for easy identification.

Source: Serpent [serpent.com]

September 22, 2017

2017 Serpent Asia Cup – Announcement

The Hong Kong based TRC racing track will play host to the 2017 Serpent Asia Cup on the weekend of the 3rd of December. After the successful 2016 edition this year’s event will again be held in the Serpent-only classes of 1/8th nitro on-road, 1/10th nitro on-road as well as Open and Spec Cobra GT. A couple of special guests will make an appearance and more information are available here soon.

September 22, 2017

3DRC D-type touring car rear wing

3DRC have further expanded their range of 190mm touring car rear wings by the new D-type wing. Of a more conventional design the wing sports extra flaps for improved airflow and maximised downforce. Dual mounting holes in standard “Protoform pattern” allow to use the 3-D-printed wing in a front or rearward position. Like all 3DRC parts the wing is available through the brand’s Shapeways store or at select model shops.

View another image here